Give Me 10 Minutes, I’ll Give You The Truth About OWLs

We’ve all done it, update our profile picture or share a meme on social media and wait impulsively to get ‘likes’.

Picture this – you either change your profile picture or post a meme.

Your thoughts in a nutshell.

Meme

  • 15 mins- People are online and yet they haven’t liked the picture, why?
  • 30 mins- Is it funny? May be its ‘ha’ funny and not ‘haha’ funny
  • 45 mins- May be the timing was wrong, Oh no! My post is going to get buried
  • 60 mins- Okay I’ll delete the picture, it’s embarrassing to have one with no likes on my wall

Profile picture

You’ve selected the best location, worn a stunning dress, and the picture was clicked on a DSLR camera

  • 4 hours- Only 5 likes? Okay I’ll wait for some time, people wouldn’t have noticed
  • 8 hours- 10 likes really? God my blemishes are totally visible, and my ears look funny
  • 12 hours- 13 likes and comments yay! Oh people are teasing me, never mind this publicity will get more likes
  • 16 hours- This is bad, 15 likes! And I look fat in this angle, sigh! may be this is as good as it gets

If you’ve ever felt this way or deleted a picture because you didn’t get likes, then my friend you’ve got the OWLs.

OWLs? What is it? Is it some kind of a word shrinks use? Oh God, I’m already a stressed person and now I’ve got the OWLs!!

Please stop freaking out. And don’t search for it in WebMD because you won’t find it. It’s just a term I coined.

Arghhhh! What is OWLs?

Obsession with Likes Syndrome (OWLs) is a social media condition that makes people less worried about communication and more concerned about approval.”- Anjana (yes it’s me)

Causes of OWLs

Mostly common people get affected by OWLs when ‘likes’ are the coping mechanism for either

  • Boredom
  • Jealousy
  • Social approval
  • Relationship problems
  • Loneliness
  • Low self-esteem

Remedy

Our generation has a shorter attention span and a childlike desire for constant feedback. It has left everyone with an identity crisis just like a toddler acting out for attention.

The remedy for OWLs is like a math problem, answers are mostly hidden in the question. We just have to figure it out without losing our minds.

So pardon me, the remedy for OWLs is going to be a long yap.

Problems begin if you’re replacing likes with either one of the above causes.

We must admit that on some level all of us are guilty of this obsession. After posting something we constantly check our phone to keep track of likes. If the post does well we experience social media high and if it doesn’t then it’s a social media low.

By posting something you’re opening up your views to the online world and hope that you’ll get a good reaction. In the process you’re also making yourself vulnerable to other’s thoughts. And when you don’t receive the expected reaction, it eats you up and makes you feel bad.

I’d be a hypocrite if I say that I’m not a fan of likes. I do feel good if a post does well and disappointed when it doesn’t. Whatever the outcome is, it’s all in the moment and I move past it. I’m glad that I did not replace likes with the above said causes.

Also, there’s nothing to be ashamed with wanting likes. Don’t ignore and pretend that you don’t care. After all you are only human. Embrace it and say “It did sting” if your post didn’t do well.

As humans we constantly seek for approval around us. It is but normal to be concerned about what others feel. All of us want our posts to be well received but, let’s not obsess with optimistic feedback.

Don’t give ‘likes’ the power to control you. It is important to be comfortable with your own thoughts and accept what you think is good enough. Don’t let absence of social media ‘likes’ get in the way of voicing your point of view. You don’t always need a thumbs up.

In the wizarding world, Harry and Ron struggled to pass their OWLs (Ordinary Wizarding Level Exams, Duh!). But, in this real world we live, let’s fail in OWls. Remember that it is okay to fail sometimes.

Here’s a video that shows the extent to which OWLs has affected us. Do watch it till the end.

Featured image credits- uxpressia

29 Comments Add yours

  1. Dahlia says:

    Good relevant post. A certain amount of ratification is necessary but then people take it to the next level altogether. I often get likes without any comments and I can’t help but wonder if someone just clicked the like button to get a return visit! And then any sort of gratification due to the number of ‘likes’ is spoilt forever and ever 😀

    I couldnt manage to see the video due to net issues but will check it out for sure – thanks for sharing 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Anjana says:

    Dahlia, even I feel the same way which is why I wrote a blog on it. And when you get access to the internet do watch the video, its hilarious!!!

    Like

  3. This is spot-on. Very incisive writing.
    Modern life is insane, when you think about it.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Anjana says:

    I’m a newbie to the blogging world and to get such a comment is very motivating. And modern life is indeed insane, the things people do!!! We can go on and on about it and we wouldn’t get exhausted.

    Like

    1. I think I did read that there is some kind of official hormonal/endocrine response when you get likes on social media, so people get addicted to wanting more and more of them…And yes I have deleted stuff that didn’t get any! You are very right in this post

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Anjana says:

        Its the nature of human beings to want more, we are never satisfied with what we have. Even I’m guilty of OWLs.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Bhagyashri says:

    Awesome illustration.. very nicely written. Following!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Anjana says:

      Thank you Bhagyashri 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Haha😂😂the video was indeed funny, not sure if the guy and the ‘production’ team found that funny, thought he would change his mind even. Good one, Anjana! OWLs are indeed a raging disease and guess what I am guilty of being inflicted too!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Anjana says:

    Even I feel the same, the production company wouldn’t have enjoyed it :p and surprisingly a majority of us are affected by OWLs but deny it. I’m glad you’re not 🙂

    Like

  8. Ms. Kumar says:

    Whoaaaa this is something cooool! I was thinking about this a while ago to update on!😅❤️ Well done! 🙂 Gotta say, I like your blog!👌🏼

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Anjana says:

      May be you can write something from your point of view 🙂 I’m happy that you liked the post 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  9. I loved reading it.
    It couldn’t have been more apt. Our generation has sure become so obsessed with social approval. I find it ungealthy and you have given it a lovely name , calling it OWLS.
    I loved this post not only because I have seen auch people but also because I understand how pathetic it feels to get constant approval or disapproval of the society. That is what I say when I keep getting asked why I don’t posta many pictures on social media.
    It is simply because I do not want any kind of approval or disapproval on me. I am who I am.
    Great post here. Thanks for the share.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Anjana says:

      Moushmi, what you do is also right. You are a very confident person. Thank you so much for taking the time to read my post and giving your thoughts on OWLs. I’m very happy to know that you loved reading it. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It was surely a pleasure.

        Liked by 1 person

  10. Shubham says:

    Extremely relatable in my case 😅
    Loved it

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Anjana says:

      Yeah it’s the same with me. Thank you for reading Shubham 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  11. Anne Sandler says:

    This is so true and yet funny. We can all identify. I post a picture or two and then check to see how many likes I get. For me it’s validation as a photographer. But it’s all subjective. I’ll post a picture that I’m not really super fond of and it may get more likes than one I love.

    Like

    1. Anjana says:

      Anne, this has happened a lot with me too, the post which I love doesn’t get that many likes. Thank you very much for reading 🙂

      Like

  12. Eccentric Muse says:

    I’m at work trying to read your blog in between so forgive me for a bit slow in replying as it’s a bit busy here today. Anyways, truthful and funny post at the same time, although I honestly don’t care for the likes.

    Like

    1. Anjana says:

      Good that you don’t care about likes 🙂 thank you do reading the post and sharing your thoughts.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Eccentric Muse says:

        Yes, because if I did, I wouldn’t have lasted this long in the blogging world! 😛

        Liked by 1 person

  13. The first thing that came to my mind was Ordinary Wizarding Levels! But yes, it’s so true how much social media affects us. I used to suffer from OWLs, I guess. It’s so easy to draw comparisons and wonder why the stuff you share isn’t getting much reception. But then I decided to cut off all social media. Now I use it mostly for sharing blog posts 😂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Anjana says:

      Yeah Shweta, most of the people affected by OWLs have just limited their social media presence!!!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes. That’s the best way! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  14. Sofia says:

    I had fun reading this one

    Like

    1. Anjana says:

      I’m glad you enjoyed it Sofia 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  15. Nandhini says:

    very true..well done Anjana..☺👌👌

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Anjana says:

      Thank you, Nandhini 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

